Fall Out Boy – Infinity On High


Artist: Fall Out Boy
Album: Infinity On High
Label: Island Def Jam
Purchase: Smart Punk
Release Date: February 6, 2007

Overall: 9.2
Music: 9.2
Lyrics: 8.7
Production: 9.4

Fall Out Boy are either the world’s most loved band, or the most hated. For those of us that “get it,” they have delivered a fantastic new album with “Infinity On High.”

The album expands on the style of “From Under the Cork Tree.” With that album, the band introduced a safe, mainstream sound to new and old fans alike. Now they’re able to take creative liberties and spin off into new directions that keeps the music evolving.

Despite what some may think, with Jay-Z introducing this disc, you know it’s is going to be huge. “Thriller” shows hints of Fall Out Boy’s hardcore roots with Andrew Hurley on double bass pedals and Joe Trohman’s chugging guitars. If Jay-Z on the same track as double bass isn’t enough to excite you, the album has barely even started.

“The Take Over, the Break’s Over” has grooving verses that transit into a pumping bridge that melts into a delicious chorus.

Polarizing first single “This Ain’t A Scene, It’s An Arms Race” grew on me after I could actually sit down with it. It was a gamble for the band to experiment with an R&B sound, but the charts say it was a smart move.

“I’m Like A Lawyer With the Way I’m Always Trying to Get You Off (Me and You)” draws upon Maroon 5 and will probably give the media more reason to bastardize the word emo.

“Hum Hallelujah” is sure to be a new fan favorite. Then it’s followed up with what’s sure to be known as “the worst FOB song ever.” “Golden” shows that the band are trying new things, but this song was poorly executed.

The album hammers through eight more tracks ranging from good to great. The b-sides that have been released, depending on where you buy your disc are also welcome additions to the band’s catalog.

While I doubt we’ll ever get another “Take This To Your Grave,” “Infinity” is a worthy follow-up that’s sure to keep Fall Out Boy on top for at least another year.

Track Listing:
1. Thriller
2. The Take Over, The Break’s Over
3. This Ain’t a Scene, It’s an Arms Race
4. I’m Like a Lawyer With the Way I’m Always Trying to Get You Off (Me&You)
5. Hum Hallelujah
6. Golden
7. Thnks Fr Th Mmrs
8. Don’t You Know Who I Think I Am?
9. The (After) Life of the Party
10. The Carpal Tunnel of Love
11. Bang the Doldrums
12. Fame < Infamy
13. You’re Crashing, But You’re No Wave
14. I’ve Got All This Ringing In My Ears and None On My Fingers