Lostprophets – Liberation Transmission


Artist: Lostprophets
Album: Liberation Transmission
Label: Columbia
Purchase: Smart Punk
Release Date: June 27, 2006

Overall: 7.9
Music: 8.5
Lyrics: 7.3
Production: 8.0

These Welsh lads have been gradually positioning themselves to take over the U.S. rock charts for the past five years. “The Fakesound of Progress” was a gem that will forever remain one of my top albums of all time; mixing elements of punk, hardcore, emo, and straight up alt. rock in a schizophrenic frenzy that if you were lucky enough to get, it would change your expectations of rock music. “Start Something” was the album to launch the band into the mainstream with singles like “Last Train Home” and “Make a Move(Wake Up)” capturing the hearts of new listeners with their pop polish shining through. While not as complex as “Fakesound,” “Start Something” was still a solid album full of strong songs.

Now, two years later, we have “Liberation Transmission.” This is the record that will make or break the band for the mainstream. The album is full of radio ready songs and some tracks that are better suited to being listened to off the radio.

Ian Watkins has always amazed me vocally, both live and on disc. Once again, he doesn’t disappoint. The lyrics are nothing complex, but are the product of someone knowing how to craft solid pop/rock songs. However, with themes of hope and a line dropped from “The Goonies” in a chorus(Andie, you goonie!) you can’t help but forgive the fact you’re not looking at pretentiousness from a seasoned act like Lostprophets.

Lee Gaze and Mike Lewis bring on the shred with their guitars, managing to once again build parts that stick out in your head, helping put this band heads and shoulders above others musically.

I will warn you, this is one of those albums that grows on you with multiple listens. I had high expectations, and when I first gave these tracks a listen, I was a little bored, but I sat down with the album again and realized these are all great songs. Then the more I listened, the more I grew to love this album. In some ways, it’s weaker than “Start Something”, and in others it’s stronger. The fact of the matter is, if you like this band, you will like this album. If you’ve been thinking of giving them a chance, this is a good place to start. If you’ve never liked them, this probably won’t win you over.

1. Everyday Combat
2. A Town Called Hypocrisy
3. A New Transmission
4. Rooftops(A Liberation Transmission)
5. Can’t Stop, Gotta Date With Hate
6. Can’t Catch Tomorrow(Good Shoes Won’t Save You This Time)
7. Everybody’s Screaming!!!
8. Broken Hearts, Torn Up Letters and the Story of a Lonely Girl
9. 4 AM Forever
10. For All These Times Son, For All These Times
11. Heaven For the Weather, Hell For the Company
12. Always All Ways(Apologies, Glances and Messed Up Chances)

Stand Out Tracks
Rooftops/Can’t Stop, Gotta Date With Hate/ Broken Hearts, Torn Up Letters…/For All These Times Son/ Always All Ways

Leave a Reply