Saves The Day – Sound The Alarm

Saves The Day

Artist: Saves The Day
Album: Sound The Alarm
Label: Vagrant
Purchase: Smart Punk
Release Date: April 11, 2006

Overall: 9.2
Music: 9.0
Lyrics: 9.4
Production: 9.3

After the horrible response from fans about 2003’s “In Reverie,” being labeless, and touring off of their old material, Saves the Day have returned with a more focused album on “Sound the Alarm.” Finding refuge in old friends Vagrant Records, the band that influenced so many of today’s artists have had to draw on influence from none other than themselves, returning to the frantic “emocore” that made them popular. They’ve also got a few new tricks up their sleeve this time around.

Most easily notable is Chris Conley’s voice which has been refined into an even bigger powerhouse than it once was. He takes the “heart on sleeve” approach and produces an entire wardrobe compromised of a heart on everything. The lyrics really stick out on the whole album. “Say You’ll Never Leave” is a prime example of the emotional gutwrenching feeling that is closer to the true definition of “emo music” than the crap kids call “emo” today.

There’s a little variety here such as the slow burner “Don’t Know Why.”

The bands that rip off “Saves the Day” should take note, because they just got outdone by the original product once again.

1. Head For the Hills
2. The End
3. Shattered
4. Eulogy
5. Dying Day
6. 34
7. Say You’ll Never Leave
8. Diseased
9. Don’t Know Why
10. Sound the Alarm
11. Bones
12. Delusional
13. Hell Is Here

Leave a Reply